加泰罗尼亚肿瘤研究所(ICO)

BrachyAcademy教育培训中心:乳腺癌、前列腺癌、常规
加泰罗尼亚肿瘤研究所(ICO, 加泰罗尼亚) 是由加泰罗尼亚(西班牙的17个自治区之一)卫生部于1995年成立的公立研究所。ICO按照欧洲癌症研究所组织规定的综合癌症中心模型建立,可提供包括预防、治疗、培训和科研在内的专业的、综合的肿瘤治疗服务。 到目前为止,它是西班牙唯一一个达到如此规模的中心。

研究所拥有南欧最大规模的放射治疗设备(10台加速器),可提供先进的近距离治疗服务,也是加泰罗尼亚地区唯一的公立放射外科治疗中心。ICO服务加泰罗尼亚地区40%的成年人群(250万人口),拥有约一千名专业员工。它有160张血液肿瘤病床,每年收治7400名患者,首诊18,000名患者。

近距离治疗专业技术

ICO是包括近距离治疗在内的国际放射治疗专家中心。放射肿瘤科拥有全西班牙最齐全的放射治疗设备,拥有超过59名癌症治疗专家,包括放射肿瘤医生、技师、护士和医学物理师。学术和临床研究在科室具有重要的地位。

3名医生、1名物理师傅、2名技术员、8名护士和2名护工专职服务于近距离治疗,每年使用HDR、PDR和LDR治疗大约550名患者。近距离治疗的主要病种包括乳腺癌、妇科肿瘤和前列腺癌,也治疗其他如眼部、直肠、皮肤和头颈部等部位的肿瘤。近距离治疗手术室包括各种成像设备,可为患者提供方便近距离治疗服务。

教育培训活动

ICO的近距离治疗专家参与组织ESTRO近距离治疗技术培训讲座,都是国际知名的研究学者和国际会议的讲课者。科室是指定的教育培训中心,除接受培训访问以外,也多次举办APBI近距离治疗技术培训班。

近距离访谈

 

Ferran Guedea: ‘Views on Brachytherapy’

 

Upcoming Programs

  • No events in this location
  • ...loading...

Catalan Institute of Oncology (ICO)

The Catalan Institute of Oncology (ICO, in Catalan) is a public institute founded in 1995 by the Ministry of Health of Catalonia (one of the 17 autonomous communities that make up Spain). Following the Comprehensive Cancer Centre model, defined by the European Organisation of Cancer Institutes, ICO takes a monographic and comprehensive approach to cancer, covering prevention, care specialist training and research. To date, it is the only centre of its kind in the whole of Spain.

The institute has one of the biggest technological infrastructures in Southern Europe (10 linear accelerators). It has a pioneer program in brachytherapy and provides the only public radiosurgery in Catalonia. ICO is the oncological hospital of reference for 40% of the adult population in Catalonia (2.5 million people) and employs a staff of around one thousand professionals. It has 168 oncohematological hospital beds, and admits 7400 patients and performs 18,000 first consultations per year.

Brachytherapy expertise

ICO is an international expert center for radiation oncology including brachytherapy. The department of Radiation Oncology utilizes the most extensive portfolio of radiotherapy devices of all hospitals in Spain and employs a staff of over 59 cancer-care professionals, including radiation oncologists, technologists, nurses, and medical physicists. Academic and clinical research plays a major role in the division.

3 physicians, 1 physicist, 2 technologists, 8 nurses, and 2 nursing assistants are fully dedicated to brachytherapy and treat about 550 patients per year with HDR, PDR and LDR brachytherapy. The main indications for brachytherapy treatment are breast, gynecological and prostate cancer, but also other indications like ocular, rectal, skin and H&N cancer are treated with brachytherapy. The brachytherapy operating theatre includes all imaging modalities, to allow for convenient brachytherapy procedures to patients.

Educational activities

The ICO brachytherapy staff are involved in organizing ESTRO brachytherapy teaching courses. The members of the brachytherapy staff are internationally renowned researchers and presenters at international meetings and conferences. Their department is a designated Educational Center, and besides receiving people for training visits, it has also hosted several workshops for APBI brachytherapy.

BrachyTalk

Dr. Cristina Gutiérrez: ‘APBI and the advantages of Brachytherapy’

Ferran Guedea: ‘Views on Brachytherapy’

 

 

Upcoming Programs

  • No events in this location
  • ...loading...